The Looking Glass

Take a gander at my life
It’s full of twist and turns
To many regrets and shames
To many final outcomes
Only to set myself up for failure
But, nay I will not allow it to consume me
If I did, then I would be finding the bottom of a bottle
I have more than myself to worry about
This is my strength, not my weakness
I may or may not be doing it right
At least I am trying
Three little monkeys full of energy
with no yard and only a small space to call home
Makes this house become a lively place
Don’t be surprised if you see my little monkeys jumping all over
Don’t be disgusted if you see one of them hit each other
Don’t be worried if you see me in the corner crying
Just know that I am doing my best, after all being a 24/7 handler of all these affairs makes, one want to run for the hills
I keep telling myself I am doing great
After all they are fed, warm, smart and friendly
This I have worked hard, can’t you tell
I want to thank you all for your help
I want wish you all good fortune
I want to know what good fortune feels like that
I know now I have to be patient and prepare for it to come
Through lots of hard work I am waiting for my reward
Only to wait for my whole life
Only to see a glimpse of what that may be

Jacquelyn Dionne

By HPS Keira Ocean

Leave a Reply

